Aug 252010

By Troy Lyle

The Bluegrass Disc Golf Association (BDGA) was at it again. The tireless organization seems to have something for area disc golfers every weekend. Most recently, it was the Beware the Beavers IV tournament held at the Riney B course in Nicholasville on August 7.

Beyond the shear enjoyment of competing in 48 holes of disc golf, entrants managed to pad their pockets with some cash and their bags with a few new discs. The BDGA doled out more than $500 in cash and merchandise, with $205 going to first place in the pro, or open, division.

Of the 51 entrants, 13 were professionals and 38 were amateurs. Everyone took home at least one disc. Merchandise prizes included everything from Glow Champion Orcs to Glow Champion Gazelles and even a UV mini disc marker that changes color in the sun.

“None of these discs are available in stores,” said BDGA president Drew Smith, who pointed out that part of the allure of competing in a BDGA event are rare and cool prizes.

Smith said he was very pleased with this year’s turnout, up from last years, especially considering the event was contending with another tournament in Louisville. Part of what attracted so many entrants was the fact that the Riney B course was in great shape, thanks to the help of the Nicholasville Disc Golf Club and the Nicholasville and Jessamine County Parks and Recreation.

Beyond cash and merch, four entrants managed to snag some additional prizes for their efforts in the closest to the pin competitions, one for each of the events divisions. Holly Williams won the pro division on hole 20, Evan Bennett the advanced on hole 9, Jeff Worley the intermediate on hole 8 and James Key the recreational on hole 21. These four took home another couple discs and a Beware the Beaver shirt and hat.

Up next for the BDGA is the Super Summer Slammer scheduled for September 11 at Veteran’s Park. The 36 hole event will once again award cash and merch prizes. The first 50 amateur entrants will also receive player’s packs with extra discs and markers. If you’re interested in competing in the event visit for more information.

Here’s a breakdown of the top three scores in each division of this year’s Beware the Beaver tournament:


Jay Embree, 135, $205

Jeff Eades, 144, $145

Sean Turner, 145, $95


Evan Bennett, 139

Dillon Nickell, 149

Zach Skees, 155


Thaddeus Highbaugh, 146

Charlie Cavalier, 153

Colin Nickell, 155


Matt Partain, 158

Eric Kopser, 163

Damian Roddy, 165